Can the Candidates do the Business

The new Wellington Employers Chamber of Commerce has taken a low key approach to the local elections this year.  For example, it put out a low key press release on 21 September.   In the past its predecessor has produced quite lavish publications, like this in 2007.   

Perhaps it’s a sign of the times, being more fiscally prudent with members’ subscriptions, or there is not a lot to shout about with this year’s crop of candidates.  You decide.

 The candidates full responses can all be found here.   If you spot anything interesting, thought provoking or just crazy, let us know.  In Lambton Ward it looks like Stephanie Cook and Sir Michael could not be bothered responding.

 On a vision for 2015 Mayor Kerry says:

Wellington is recognised internationally as a city with superb quality of life, tolerant and safe, with a vibrant economy. I want it to remain job rich, particularly in the creative sector with IT jobs that are export focussed and continue to support our economy. We must retain our compact form which allows easy access to the clean harbour and coast, and easy, accessible, walking and mountain biking experiences. We must continue to support our culture and heritage.

 Mayoral candidate Celia says (rather a lot, so edited highlights below):

More people of all ages and income levels live in the CBD, Johnsonville and Kilbirnie. Inner city Wellington lanes have been transformed like Chews Lane with Council and private partnerships. Several inner city Wellington buildings have been upgraded with photovoltaic skins, roof gardens catching stormwater and these exemplar projects are the catalyst for more transformative investment. Some B-grade offices have had the top floors converted to student accommodation and the lower floors to effective education and office uses. Planning is complete for a light rail extension of the current rail system and the first tracks south of the Wellington Railway Station are being laid.

She also calls for an “Outer Green Belt from the South Coast to Tawa” and “Good emergency planning”.

27 responses to “Can the Candidates do the Business

  1. Adam is not alone, so does greens Iona Pannet, who told the Wellington Property Association (at the Lambton candidates meeting) she was open to their proposal to replace the differential with a CBD centric alternative. John Bishop endorsed all 48 of the Associations recommendations – but then recanted on the idea of a CBD Board, after Sir Michael explained to him what it meant. Some politicians will say anything to get a vote.

  2. Rubbish Mark, I said I liked the general thrust of the document – and as it is about keeping the city dynamic and attractive and keeping businesses here. I was very specific about not “surrendering the sovereignty of the council” to a CBD board as the Property Council document proposes.

  3. Only after Sir Michael explained to you what it meant. In your speech you endorsed all 48 recommendations, unreservedly. Sir Michael, who spoke second (alphabetical order), then highlighted the issue of “surrendering sovereignty” which he could not agree too – which you then acknowledged, you could not agree too either. I’m happy to ask Ian Cassels or Sir Michael, his recollection of events.

  4. Not so Mark. You will recall that I had not completed my comments when Sir Michael interrupted, and when I continued I said that Ian Cassells and I had been discussing the very matter of the CBD board in the chitchat immediately before the formal meeting and that I was expressing my reservations to him about it. In any event, whoever said what and when, I am definitely not in favour of the CBD board proposal as presented in the document. I said that firmly then, and for the avoidance of all doubt I say it again now, and I held that view before Sir Michael raised it.

  5. Why can’t candidates stick to explaining their own policies, instead of these unpleasant little attacks on fellow candidates? First, Mr Bishop had a go at the excellent Iona Pannett and now Mr Greening feels he has to highlight Mr Bishop’s perceived failings. Sorry, guys, but voters don’t want to know what you think of your opponents: they want to know what you would do to make a difference.

  6. Thanks Mark (Greening for those of you who don’t know, one of the candidates for the WArd), my name is spelt Pannett, not Pannet. I’m very happy to look at different ways of ensuring business pays its fair share. The differential is not transparent and potentially doesn’t allocate costs fairly. I certainly do not think business should pay less than it costs the community (and that is a full analysis including environmental costs)but it must be done fairly.

    I certainly do not say things to get a vote. I’m on record as supporting a shift in the differential and will not be changing this position unless someone presents a really good case for why I should change my views.

    Lastly, I’m certainly not afraid to say unpopular things, I do it all the time and don’t apologise for it. It’s my job. For those living in Lambton and who are involved in our vibrant communities, most will be aware of that. Those living outside of it and not so involved may not.

  7. I think its important electors know what was said. Its about transparency – something I’d like to see more of from our council. And I am equally happy to apologise – especially for typo’s. Sincere apologises Iona, if I mis-typed your name.

    • Umm – if transparency is sooo important to you, Mark: how come you never mention that you don’t actually live in the Lambton ward?

      • What’s this I hear. We already have the Australian candidate for Lambton Adam Cunningham living in Miramar. Lambton will end up like the Northern Ward with councillors and candidates living on the otherside of town, popping in once a month to check on the villagers.

      • I have, that’s why you know? I disclosed it at the Inner City Residents candidates meeting, that I have lived in Mt Vic for 7 years (its why local businesses have put on my flyers), Mt Cook for 2 years, Kelburn for 1 year, and have a son attending a Brooklyn school for the last 2 years (in which I am actively involved in fund raising). I also coach a Brooklyn junior football team. (I’ve also lived in Haitatai and Berhampore). Two residents from Mt Cook (Arlington) who I have assisted with tenancy disputes with WCC, asked me to stand to get council to start listening to residents. I think I’m very involved in Lambton Ward. And those at the Inner City Residents meeting thought so as well. I suppose I could have shifted into the ward boundary (which is not far and pretty easy to do when you rent), but I think I probably have spent as much time (if not more) in Lambton Ward then any other candidate, and am still actively involved in this community. If I wasn’t, the Arlington residents would not have nominated me, and I would not have wanted to stand.

      • Correct me if I’m wrong, Mark, but wasn’t the Arlington meeting the very last of the Lambton candidate ward meetings? If so, then you didn’t bother disclosing your lack of Lambton residency to the people who turned up to any of the other candidate meetings. Nor have I seen you address this in any of the candidate profiles. Not very transparent, Mark. Oh, and who are you picking to represent you in whatever ward it is that you do live in?

  8. Mark. Don’t feel picked on by Mr Bishop. This is his latest serve, in his newsletter yesterday, to the Greens. “Where are the Issues? It seems to me that this election has been remarkable for its lack of issues and particularly for the lack of contesting among the candidates. I got into the Greens in one meeting. I argued that their advocacy of light rail plus Pannett’s declared distain for diesel buses would take services way from hilly suburbs like Brooklyn and Kelburn/Highbury. At the next meeting Iona Pannett strongly backs buses, promises more bus services in Kelburn and says she wants them to run on time. No argument there.”

  9. Don’t think we will end up like the Northern Ward Johnny, most of us proudly live in Lambton. Why would you want to live anywhere else?

    • Apparently it’s only Helene Ritchie who doesn’t live in the Northern Ward. Best and Wain have confirmed (via their FB pages) they live in ward.

  10. re paying for water – Johnny just going back to your original comment – we already pay for water right through Council levies and rates – metering simply makes who pays more transparent. would make water conservation easier because households would actually know how much water they are using and how expensive it is, and cut back accordingly when the price rises in a shortage.

    never understood how the greens are opposed to water metering. seems to be a good mechanism to make sure we conserve water and don’t run out. also means the rich pay more (because they use more).

  11. I think water metering is a good idea too as you cannot conserve unless you know how much you are actually using. Cunningham seems to want user pays for water, which goes further I believe than most voters would want to. The Greens view on metering, if there is one, is odd.

    • nothing to stop you getting your own water meter if you want to know how much you use. but mandating them is the first step towards user pays AND privatisation.

  12. I rang Capacity and asked how much it would be to install a domestic water meter at our house. They said that we might need to upgrade the meter box valve-thingie on the street as it might not be big enough to take a water meter, but assuming it was the costs would be about $1,000.

    Multiply that by 100,000 households in the region, and there’s a huge new bill to be added to everyone’s rates (whether regular ones or new water ones). So it’s pretty clear that water meters = much higher costs, irrespective of the merits of measuring usage.

  13. By the way Adam ‘pubman’ Cunningham has taken down his 14 foot sign opposite Te Papa. It’s been replaced by a beer ad, of course. Does this mean Cunningham is conceding defeat early.

  14. He had two. The other was/is on the Boulcott Village apartments on Willis. It was hidden a bit behind St Mary’s. Kerry’s polling bill will be interesting too.

    • what’s the rule about a billboard on a commercial billboard site — they’ve got to claim a fair value, even if they didn’t actually pay for it?

      • From the Local Government Electoral Act:

        “Electoral expenses … includes the reasonable market value of any materials applied in respect of any electoral activity that are given to the candidates or taht are provided to the candidate free of charge or below reasonable market value”

  15. oh, so $20k to $30k depending on how many people live in Lambton. That billboard on Cable St must have been worth at least $10k for a month. Possibly more. Plus he has another worth maybe $4k. Plust two runs of glossy leaflets. He’ll be running close.

    • oh – and that doesn’t include the cost of designing and manufacturing the billboards – was just estimating the cost of hiring them based on advertised market rates for similarly sized and placed billboards round town.

Leave a comment