What’s up between Onslow candidates Mike and Andy

What’s up between Mike Flemming and Andy Foster and why do some candidates feel the need to mass email the rest of the candidates post election with their gripes (see Thomas Morgan below)?  Is it a case of sour grapes? And when will someone tell Mike not to put the message in the title space? Mike contested the Onslow-Western Ward and obtained 567 votes. Andy Foster topped the poll with 4,307. Graeme got 597 votes and was elected to the Tawa Community Board. He got some email loving too.

“From: <mikefleming@slingshot.co.nz>
Date: Tue, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:26 AM
Subject: Yes Graeme I agree with your statement being “Criminals should be reported to the Police, it is everyone’s civil duty” Presumably Celia Wade-Brown might consider making a complaint to the NZ Police against Foster, given our wonderful, yet fragile, Celia Wade-Brown got seemingly publicly noted (presumably because she seems an intelligent women, whom dim and aggressive women haters seem to loath, and who may seemingly think they are above the Law?). I feel that Celia Wade-Brown, Wellington mothers and those other women WCC Councilors should shout out in support of any complaint Celia might make to the NZ Police. Further, if my memory serves me correctly, wasn’t Foster referred to as being “seemingly dim and aggressive” by a women resident quoted in the Wellingtonian recently? PS: Coincidentally, there seems to be a rumor flying around about a nation wide campaign to raise money to assist a private litigation in the High Court, and Foster and two other WCC employees,has anyone To:WCC Councillors and Candidates”
 
“Quoting Graeme Hansen from Tawa Community Board <graemeh-tcbd@xnet.co.nz>:
 
 Mike.

 This is the second request that I have made for you to stop emailing me.  However, I am stunned to see that you are the only person in New Zealand, if not the world, who has never broken any law, even unintentionally. Please do not email me again.

 regards

 Graeme Hansen”

“From: <mikefleming@slingshot.co.nz>
Date: Mon, Oct 11, 2010 at 5:28 PM
Subject: Criminals should be reported to the Police, it is everyones civil duty.
To: Malcolm Sparrow <malcolm@tawalink.com>
Cc: Andy Foster <Andy.Foster@wcc.govt.nz>”

“From: <mikefleming@slingshot.co.nz>
Date: Mon, Oct 11, 2010 at 1:46 PM
Subject: Having now had a breif discussion with my laywer, prior to possibly making a complaint to the NZ Police about you, which “List” did you get my email address from
To: Andy Foster <Andy.Foster@wcc.govt.nz>”
 
“Quoting Andy Foster <Andy.Foster@wcc.govt.nz>:
 
Thanks Mike – I did make a mistake in using my WCC email address, instead of my xtra one, and when that mistake was pointed out I corrected it. I’d also point out that : 1 – the lists used are not WCC ones. 2 – the email doesn’t suggest who to vote for – just that it would be a good thing to vote for somebody, somewhere. 3 – that the bulk of the people on the list could not vote for me – because they aren’t in Onslow – Western.  4 – that I have been getting a lot more feedback – with survey responses – ie people wanting to have a say, than those saying please delete. Obviously I will happily delete anyone wanting to do that. I’d also point out that other people have found out about it and wanted me to add them onto the database.  5 – I’ll also fix the unsubscribe and the survey technology.  6 – that I will be sending out a whole lot more post election (a lot more than pre election)- same survey message. The important bit is getting a better handle on what people think, and I’ve been spending a lot of time putting together lists to do that. 7 – That leads me to the biggest point of all. The overriding theme of public involvment in our local democratic process is that it is too low, and that people don’t know who’s who, or about the issues. It is absolutely clear that traditional methods of engagement aren’t doing the business, so we need to try new ones – and obviously we are now am electronically connected society.

Kind Regards to you all. Congratulations to those of you who were successful on Saturday, and commiserations to those who weren’t.

Andy”

Leave a comment